Board of Directors

MPHA is governed by a volunteer board of directors. Each board member is dedicated to providing leadership to ensure that MPHA is the leading voice of public health issues in Maine.

Executive Committee


Sarah Rines – MaineHealth

Vice President

Noah Nesin, MD – Penobscot Community Health Center


Bill Flagg – Cary Medical Center


Ed Miller, MS – retired

Past Presient

Julie Mulkern – WinterKids

At-Large Members

Clay Graybeal, PhD, MSW – University of New England

Jennifer Gunderman, MPH – University of New England

Adam Lacher – Alzheimer’s Association, Maine Chapter

Todd Martin – Natural Resources Council of Maine

Doug Michael, MPH – Northern Light Health

Amy K. Olfene – Drummond Woodsum

Clare Peaslee – Unum

Judy Tupper, DHEd, CHES, CPPS – Muskie School of Public Service, USM

Lynsey Waite – Grove Collaborative

Affiliate Representative to the Governing Council (ARGC) of APHA


Sarah Rines – MaineHealth

Non-Voting Members

Nancy Birkhimer, MPH, Maine CDC – Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention Liaison

Stephen Sears, MD, MPH – retired – Clinical Advisor